Getting your driver's license is exciting! It offers a great sense of freedom and independence to all drivers. But it also requires a high level of responsibility. Driving in the state of Texas is a privilege that must be earned by following steps to getting your Texas learner's permit, and ultimately your driver's license.
In Texas, if you're 18 years of age or younger, your first step toward getting your driver's license is with a learner's permit. To get your learner's permit, first you'll need to take a Texas Drivers Education course that is approved by the Department of Public Safety (DPS).
Taking your Texas Driver's Ed course online is the fastest, easiest, most convenient way to meet the DPS requirements. I Drive Safely offers Parent-Taught DPS-Approved Driver's Education Courses that fulfill your requirements, and are more engaging and entertaining than traditional classroom courses.
In Texas, drivers as young as 14 can start their driver's education process. Requirements for instruction and practice vary between ages 14 and 18, and then from 18 to 25. Here's a basic rundown of the steps you'll need to take:
If you're 18 years of age or younger, you're eligible to take an online parent-taught Driver's Ed course. While you're not required to spend time in a classroom, there are still DPS requirements you and your parent-teacher will need to fulfill in order to qualify for this type of driver's education.
If your parent (or step-parent, grandparent, step-grandparent, foster parent, or legal guardian) is interested in supervising your online driver's education course, they'll need to have the following:
Note: Once your parent applies to be an instructor, you'll need to wait to start the course until they've been approved and received the Parent-Taught Packet.
If you’re looking for the best in online guided driver instruction, our Instructor-Led Drivers Education program can’t be beat. Working at your own pace, you’ll complete each chapter on your own – but you won’t be alone! You’ll be coached by our experienced, certified online driving instructors, who will give you the feedback you need to be successful. Driving laws – especially distracting driving laws – are updated constantly, but you won’t have to worry about studying out-of-date material. I Drive Safely’s self-paced Drivers Ed offers 2014 Certification from the Texas TEA.
Our 100% online driver education courses are designed to be easy and informative. You'll get the same education as you would in a classroom, in a format that's flexible and works with your schedule.
The driver's education course is 32 hours long, which is mandated by the state of Texas. Designed for success, you'll love the look, feel, and function of our easy-to-use online driver's education. You get so much more with I Drive Safely: