How to Replace a Lost License in Texas

About Us | Contact Us |

Customer Service (800) 990-2814

The state of Texas has protocols in place for lost and/or stolen licenses. If you ever find yourself in this stressful (but solvable!) position, look no further than our little guide to replacing a lost license in Texas.

When You're At Home

If you've misplaced your driver's license but you're still at home, the process is relatively simple. Since you no longer have a primary form of identification, the state will need to verify that you are in fact who you say you are! You'll need to appear in person at a driver's license office, with another acceptable proof of identity and your social security number. These can include:

  • Birth certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Passport
  • U.S. Citizenship or Naturalization certificate
  • Unexpired U.S. military I.D. card

Once you've sufficiently proven your identity, you can fill out the form that they will provide you, and pay a fee of $11 for a duplicate license. After that, you're good to go!

When You're Out of Town

The tricky part is knowing what to do when your license is lost or stolen when you're not at home. If you're traveling, and need your license immediately, unfortunately there's not much to be done. But if you can wait a few weeks... if you're spending the summer with family or friends who can help you out on the meantime... then there is a solution for you.

You'll need to complete and submit:

  • A Texas Driver License and Identification Renewal/Duplicate Application
  • An Out-of-State/Country Application
  • A check or money-order with the appropriate fee.
  • (Males 18-26 will also need to fill out a U.S. Selective Service Registration form.)

Note also that if you've gotten a traffic ticket within the last year, you'll also need to submit to an eye exam at a local driver license office or by an available doctor.

Your new license will be mailed either to your Texas residence, or the address you provide on the Out-of-State/Country form. Wait 3-4 weeks, and your problems are over!

Stolen License Syndrome

If you suspect your driver's license has been stolen, you should immediately file a police report. The next step is to come into the driver license office and report the theft. You'll need to provide proof of fraudulent activity, and if the DPS agrees, then you'll be issued a new driver's license number, and you'll need to follow all of the same steps listed above for a lost license.

 

More Articles & News:

Process to Renew your Texas Driver License

Texas State Teen Driving Laws, Education and Safety Tips

 

 

 

©1998-2014 I Drive Safely, L.L.C. All rights reserved