While it can seem to be a daunting task, Parent-Taught Driver Education can be one of the most rewarding experiences you can have with your teenage child. However, going through the steps needed to get your teen a drivers license can sometimes get a bit confusing. Don't worry. We’ve compiled some helpful handy guides that can help you through the process!
The Texas PTDE course is an opportunity provided by the state for you to act as your teen's classroom and behind-the-wheel instructor for their driver's education curriculum. The benefits of a PTDE program are many, for both child and parent:
- You can monitor your child's progress closely
- Your teen can learn in a comfortable and stress-free environment
- Your teen will study at their own pace, accommodating their specific learning needs
- You can ensure that requirements are met and rules are followed
- You know that your teen has a loving and nurturing teacher who wants the best for their safety and security
In order to participate in the Parent-Taught Driver's Education program, you must be a parent, grandparent, or other legal guardian of your teen, or else you will not qualify as an instructor.The state also requires that you:
- Have a valid Texas driver's license, held for at least the past 3 years without any suspensions or revocations
- Have 6 points or LESS on your driving record
- Have never committed a felony driving violation, such as DWI or negligent homicide
If you have just moved to the state of Texas, you'll need to provide a copy of your driving record from your previous state of residence to confirm your eligibility.
You must apply for a Parent-Taught Driver Education packet from the DPS (you will also be prompted to do so after course registration). Once you've received this packet, you may begin instructing your child. You'll need to send in a PTDE application, along with a $20 fee.
Check out the Path To License Page for:
- From Permit To License - an overview of what steps your teen will take to go from getting a permit to getting a drivers license.
- Got Questions? - a quick guide to the most frequently asked questions regarding drivers ed and what you'll need to do to get your teen's license.
- Forms You'll Need - dot the i's and cross the t's. Make sure you have everything you need when you head to the Driver License Office.
We're here to help you every step of the way. Call us 24/7 with any question or concern.
Call us at 800-990-2814. TDD for the hearing impaired: 800.735.2929
On average, we answer all calls within 45 seconds.
- Email us at firstname.lastname@example.orgWe answer all emails within 24 hours if not sooner.
Teaching Your Teen About Safe Driving
Need some helpful hints and techniques to make the 'learning-to-drive process' a whole lot easier- and peaceful?
Parent-Teen Safe Driving Contract
Get on the same page with our easy-to-edit Safe Driving Contract. Set expectations and know what both sides want and don't want starts BEFORE your teenager starts driving.
How to Sign Up?
It’s easier than you think. And we’re here to help you through every step.