Here is an easy-to-follow, step-by-step overview that will help answer any question you might have regarding our online Parent-Taught Drivers Education Program.
- FIRST THINGS FIRST1
- GOING TO THE DPS TO GET AN INSTRUCTOR PERMIT
- HOW DO I QUALIFY AS AN INSTRUCTOR
- DIFFERENCES IN COURSES
- WHAT IF WE CHANGE OUR MINDS
- INSURANCE DISCOUNTS?
- NOW THAT THE STUDENT HAS PASSED THE COURSE.
- SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
- PAYING FOR YOUR COURSE
- DRIVE SAFELY
YES! This course is fully approved as Parent Taught Drivers Ed. This course is the only state approved course designed specifically for the State of Texas and is all you need to get your license at 16 years old and receive a discount on your insurance.
The Texas Parent-Taught Drivers Education (PTDE) program became law in 1997 as an alternative to Drivers Education in a conventional school setting. This program allows teens to take their drivers education course online (with DPS-approved providers) and allows parents to provide the in-car Drivers Training. In order to participate in PTDE, the parent must first submit a Request for Parent-Taught Drivers Education Packet from the Department Of Public Safety.
- Drivers Education: a course that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, and everything that you need to know before you get behind the wheel for the first time. In Texas, every new driver under 18 years old must take a 32-hour drivers education course before applying for the learners permit. I Drive Safely provides a DPS-approved drivers education course.
- Drivers Training: the behind-the-wheel driving lessons that you take with a licensed driving instructor. In Texas, if you are under 18, you must take 14 hours of drivers training (7 hours behind the wheel and 7 hours of in-car observation.) However, if you are participating in the Parent-Taught Drivers Education program, your parent can provide the 14 hours of drivers training. See explanation of PTDE above.
Teenager - The Parent Taught Driver Education Program is available to teenagers between the ages of 14 and 17. The course must be completed prior to the student's eighteenth (18th) birthday to receive credit under this program.
Parent/Guardian Instructor . The instructor must have a valid TEXAS driver license for the preceding three years. Active US military personnel and their spouse may participate as instructors if they hold a valid license from their state of permanent residence or last duty station for the preceding three years.
Instructors must not have ever been convicted of criminal behavior. This includes a probated sentence, felony homicide, and having a DUI or DWI on their record. In the last 3 years, an instructor must not have had their license suspended, revoked, or forfeited due to any traffic violations. And to do their job properly, an instructor cannot have a disability related to mental illness. Questions regarding mental stability will be forwarded to the Medical Advisory Board for determination.
In order to apply for a Parent Taught Driver Education Program, you must:
- Sign up for the course.
- During the sign up, you'll be prompted to download the State Required
DL-92 Request Form.
- Complete the DL-92 - Request Form and submit it with a non-refundable fee (please check with the Department of Public Safety for the exact amount and remember, you can only use a check or money order) to:
Texas Department of Public Safety,
License Issuance Bureau,
P.O. Box 149246,
Austin, Texas 78714-9246.
- Wait for the state to approve you as a Parent Instructor. (Usually 2 - 3 weeks.)
- Once the State approves you, they will mail you your Parent Taught Driver Education packet.
- Upon receipt of the packet, you may begin your joint online testing and behind-the-wheel training! Easy as that!
Please Make Note:
- For each student who will be participating in the Parent Taught Driver Education Program an additional DL-92 Request Form and non-refundable fee are required.
- The Request Form must be completely filled out with original signatures or the process will be delayed. Please allow 2 - 3 weeks for delivery.
- (You do not need to worry about this step right now, just be aware that at the end of the course you will need to complete this form.) Once you're approved as an instructor.
The State of Texas has approved I Drive Safely's online classroom training as a concurrent teaching method meaning you are required to:
The classroom phase of a driver education course is at least 32 hours (32, 40 or 56 hours in public schools) which cannot be completed in less than 16 days. The in-car phase consists of 7 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, 7 hours of in-car observation, and an additional 20 hours of behind-the-wheel driving - of which 10 hours must be done at night.
The additional 20 hours of behind-the-wheel driving will be monitored by the parent or guardian and are not required to be provided by a licensed driver education school. However, the hours must be completed in the presence of an adult who holds a valid license, is 21 or older, has at least one year of driving experience, and occupying the seat next to the driver.
With online Driver's Ed Texas, you get all the driving information you'd get in a traditional classroom setting, but with none of the hassle! You can take your course anywhere with an Internet connection, at any time-you set your own schedule. This means you're also free to go at the pace that's right for you. At the end of your course, you'll take a 50-question multiple-choice final exam. When you pass, we'll mail your Certificate of Completion out to you! It couldn't be easier.
Yes! You can take your online Driver's Ed course on your iPad or iPhone.
If you fail the course final exam,don't worry! You get 3 attempts to pass the exam.However, keep in mind that if you fail your third attempt, you will need to retake the course. This will require signing up and paying for the course again.
No, you are free to work on your course as you please. Your progress is automatically saved each time you log out, which means you'll come back to the spot where you last left off every time.
Each teen must register individually for the Driver's Ed course. It's the only way for each individual to receive their own Certificate of Completion.
If you are older than 18 but younger than 25, you will still need to complete a driver education course. You will need to supply the proper documentation as well as your application forms. At the Driver License office, you will pay the applicable fee, have your thumbprints and photo taken, and you will be required to take and pass a vision test, as well as a knowledge exam and a driving test, unless you are exempt from these.
No, you will not have to get a learner license if you are over 18. However please note that if you are under 25, you must still complete an approved driver education course.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
After the student has passed the required 6-hours online training:
In order to apply for an Instruction Permit, be sure to have ALL of the following:
- 6-Hour Permit Qualification Certificate
- Application for Texas Driver License, DL-14a
- Parental Driver Education Affidavit, DL-90a
- Classroom Instruction Record, DL-91a
- Pay the required fee for Instruction Permit Issuance
- Proof of registration and insurance (if you own the vehicle)
- Proof of identity:
There are three categories of documents that may be presented to establish proof of identity. Every original applicant must present:
- one piece of primary identification; or
- one piece of secondary identification PLUS two pieces of support identification; or
- two pieces of secondary identification.
Primary Identification includes: unexpired Texas driver license (DL) or identification certificate (ID) with photo within two-years of expiration date, unexpired United States passport, United States Citizenship Certificate or Certificate of Naturalization with identifiable photo
Secondary Identification includes: recorded governmental documents such as birth certificates, Department of State Certification of Birth, or original or certified copy of court order with name and date of birth (DOB) indicating an official change of name and/or gender.
Supporting Identification includes: School records, Insurance policy (valid continuously for the past two years), Vehicle title, Military records and ID cards, Voter registration card (actual card), Social Security card (actual card), a foreign passport (actual document)
- Two pieces of proof of Texas residency/domicile
Your "residency" is where you live most of the time. Your "domicile" is your permanent home. These two documents include anything with your name and Texas address, and may also fall under your primary/secondary forms of identification. Documents include a high school report card from the current year, a medical/health card, a U.S. passport, or an insurance policy.
- Proof of Social Security Number
Documentation for proof of the Social Security Number may include:
- Federal issued Social Security Card. (Metal Social Security cards or types sold at flea markets will NOT be accepted).
- Health Card (if member number represents Social Security Number.)
- Pilot's license
- Military identification (Active and reserve duty personnel only, not acceptable for dependents).
- Peace officer's license - Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standard and Education.
- Medicare/Medicaid Cards
- Certified college/university transcript (designating number as SSN).
- Veteran's administration card (with social security number preprinted on card).
- Verification of Enrollment and Attendance Form from I Drive Safely.
Yes! The instructor must be present in order for the student to get a Texas Instruction Permit or Class C Driver License.
The following are required by each instructor if there is more than one instructor teaching the course:
- Classroom Instruction-Driver Education Affidavit (DL-90A)
- Behind the Wheel-Driver Education Affidavits (DL-90B)
Remember, an instructor must be present when a student decides to apply for either of the following:
- Texas Instruction Permit
- Class C Drivers License
And, whichever instructor is absent during this time must have their affidavit notarized before the students goes to the Driver License Office.
The student must take a written and vision examination prior to receiving the Texas Driver License Instruction permit, and must also pass a driving skills exam. The instructor participating in the Parent Taught Driver Education Program does not have the option to waive the skills (driving) test in order to obtain a Class C driver license – the skills exam is required.
Behind-the-Wheel Training is really a simple matter. We spell it all out for you in the instruction manual. Basically you keep an accurate log of all the objectives and lessons taught.
Log Records are for the instructor's use and serves as a "check-list. to mark your student's progress. Simply enter the date of completion into the log record after the required hours for each specified unit title and driving time. And KEEP ACCURATE RECORDS because you may be required to present this form as proof you have completed all objectives outlined in the Parent Taught Education Program.
And Don't Forget....!
Classroom instruction is not allowed before a student receives their Parent Taught Driver Education packet. If the student or instructor does not follow this rule regarding instruction, any time completed beforehand will not count toward instruction time.
Until a student receives their Texas Instruction Permit, they are not allowed to participate in behind-the-wheel instruction or any driving practice that takes place inside a vehicle. Again, if the student or instructor does not follow this rule regarding driving instruction, any time completed beforehand will not count toward practice or instruction time.
And remember - driving without a license or permit on a public street or highway is a violation of state law. Don't do it and risk your chances of getting a drivers license.
To receive credit for this entire program, a student must complete it before their 18th birthday.
You can find everything here of the necessary forms to download.
Texas teens are required to complete 20 hours of supervised driving practice (including 10 hours of night driving) before they can get a driver license.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
Per the State of Texas - A legal guardian is defined as a guardian who has been legally appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction (Power of Attorney is not legally sufficient).
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Criminal Negligent Homicide convictions (including a probated sentence) are a permanent entry on the driver record. DWIs are indefinite and therefore, make the instructor ineligible to teach the student the Parent Taught Driver Education Program.
In order to be an instructor for your teen, you must:
- Be a parent, grandparent, or other legal guardian of the teen.
- Have held a valid Texas driver license for the past 3 years without any suspensions or revocations.
- Have 6 or fewer points on your driving record.
- Have never committed a felony driving violation, such as DWI or negligent homicide.
- If you have just moved to the state of Texas, provide a copy of your driving record from your previous state of residence to confirm your eligibility.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
While many insurance companies do honor drivers education courses for auto insurance discounts, it is best to contact your insurance agent or company to be sure.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
Once you've passed the final online exam at the end of the course, you will have the Certificate of Completion emailed or delivered to you via FedEx.
Of course. You can upgrade your delivery method in your I Drive Safely account or by calling us at (800) 990-2814.
If you lose your certificate, you can simply request a duplicate in your I Drive Safely account. Under your certificate delivery details, there will be a link to request a duplicate certificate.
In order to obtain an unrestricted driver license, the following documents must be presented upon returning to the Driver License Office.
- Valid Instruction Permit (minimum age 16 and held a VALID Instruction Permit for a 1 year period)
- Verification of Enrollment and Attendance Form in school
- Two pieces of proof of Texas residency/domicile
Your "residency" is where you live most of the time. Your "domicile" is your permanent home. These two documents include anything with your name and Texas address, such as a high school report card from the current year, a medical/health card, a U.S. passport, or an insurance policy.
- Parental Driver Education Affidavit, DL-90B
- Online Classroom Instruction and Behind the Wheel Record Log, DL-91A and DL-91B (You may be required to present this form as proof you have completed all objectives outlined in the Parent Taught Education Program)
- Pay the required $20 fee for Provisional Driver License
The state of Texas allows you to drive in another state with your learner license, however, these states do not let out-of-state individuals with permits drive: Arizona, Hawaii, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Vermont. Texas drivers with learner licenses may not drive in Washington, D.C. either. You should research the driving laws in the state you will be visiting.
If you are under the age of 18, you must hold your learner license for at least 6 months before you may apply for your driver license. You will also need to have completed both the classroom and behind-the-wheel portions of driver training before you apply.
If you are under the age of 18 and hold a provisional license, you may only drive 1 passenger under the age of 21 who is not a family member.
No, you are required to have a licensed individual who is 21 or older with you in the passenger seat of the vehicle at all times when driving with a learner license.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
Steps You Need To Take
Find everything you need to know about getting your license. From signing up to applying for your license. It's all right here in "Steps to Get Your License".
Get the answers you need to questions you ask the most including details about the course, concerns about getting your license and info about our company.
Forms You’ll Need
Before you head out to apply for your license, make sure you're prepared. In this section, you'll find a list of the forms and documents you will probably need.