In 1999, Oklahoma became the 33rd state in the nation to pass a Graduated Driver License law. What that means to Oklahoma teen drivers is there are multiple steps they will need to take in order to gain an unrestricted license.
- Step 1-Passing The First 5 Units of Our Parent-Taught Drivers Ed
- Step 2-Getting Your Learner's Permit
- Step 3-Graduating Our Oklahoma Parent-Taught Drivers Ed
- Step 4-Getting Your Intermediate License
- Step 5-Your Unrestricted License
- What To Expect When You Take Your Drivers License Test
- The Drivers Skill Test
Passing The First 5 Units of Our Parent-Taught Drivers Ed
When taking our online Oklahoma Drivers Ed course, teen drivers must pass Unit 5 before they can apply for a learners permit. After Unit 5 is when students actually start driving.
Getting Your Learner's Permit
To begin Behind-The-Wheel Training you must have your learners permit. To apply for your permit simply go to the DPS nearest you and apply for your permit. You will be required to bring:
- Proof of your current status as it relates to your education (i.e. enrollment in a secondary or vocational-technical school, proof that you have completed a GED, or proof of home schooling, on a form provided by the Department of Public Safety.)
- Your Parent-Taught Driver's Education Affidavit (to show proof of enrollment in your course)
- Proof of Identity and US Residency which may include:
- Certified birth certificate
- U.S. passport
- State of Oklahoma identification card issued by Department of Public Safety
- Citizenship naturalization documents
- Alien registration card
- Possession of a learner's permit allows you to drive when:
- You are at least 151/2 years of age
- You have taken and passed a driver's education course
- You have passed the written driving test
- You have passed the vision exam
- You are accompanied by an adult who is 21 or older
Graduating Our Oklahoma Parent-Taught Driver's Ed
Once you successfully complete our Driver's Education course, we will send you a Certificate of Completion. This certificate will need to be taken to the DPS when you apply for your driver's license.
Getting Your Intermediate License
After having your learner's permit for at least 6 months and having had no traffic convictions, you qualify to get your driver's license. You will need to make an appointment at the nearest DPS office and take a driving skills exam. You will get your Intermediate License after successful completion of this test. With this license, you do not need an adult that is 21 years or older to accompany you when you drive, so long as it is between 5 a.m. and 11 p.m. (There are exceptions to this rule if you are participating in school or community activities.) You may also drive 1 passenger, anyone from your family, or any person over the age of 21.
Your Unrestricted License
If you are in possession of your Intermediate License for at least 6 months and are not found guilty of any traffic violations, you qualify to get your Unrestricted License. At this point, you may drive at any time you with without passenger restrictions.
Steps You Need To Take
Find everything you need to know about getting your license. From signing up to applying for your license. It's all right here in "Steps to Get Your License".
Get the answers you need to questions you ask the most including details about the course, concerns about getting your license and info about our company.
Forms You’ll Need
Before you head out to apply for your license, make sure you're prepared. In this section, you'll find a list of the forms and documents you will probably need.
For the Class D license, there are three tests:
- the vision screening - Your vision will be checked. You may be required to wear glasses or contact lenses to drive safely.
- the written test - You will be asked questions about Oklahoma traffic laws, safe driving practices, and drug and alcohol laws/effects. You should also know local traffic laws for your city or town (check with your local police department). An oral test will be given on request (an appointment may be required). PLEASE NOTE: If you fail the written test, by law you must wait at least one day before retesting.
- the driving test - You must show that you can drive legally and safely on streets and highways. It's very important to have proper training and learn safe driving skills before you try to take the driving test. To qualify for the test:
- You must pass the vision screening and the written test.
- The car you are using must have a valid tag and you must show the security verification form. The car must be in proper mechanical condition.
- No pets or additional people can be in the car with you and the Examiner.
You are not required to pay any money when you take the tests.
When you successfully meet all the requirements, the Driver Examiner will give you a form stating the type of license, any restrictions that apply, and the fee. You will take the form to a tag agent who will take your picture, collect the fees, and issue your license. If you have been issued a Social Security Number, you must bring the card or number with you when you apply for an Oklahoma driver's license or I.D. card. This number will not appear on your license or I.D. card.
You must show that you can:
- Control the car or motorcycle.
- Properly perform basic maneuvers such as turning right and left, backing, parallel parking, parking on a hill, starting on a hill, etc.
- Use signals and drive in the proper lane.
- Understand and obey traffic signs, markings, and signals.
- Properly apply the rules of right-of-way.
- Carefully observe and correctly respond to other vehicles and pedestrians.
Skills test will not be conducted when roads are considered by the examiner to be slick or hazardous.