Get Your Permit
It's hard knowing everything that goes into getting your Learner's Permit. And while we’re not able to provide an answer to EVERY question, we hope you’ll find these pages a little helpful.
Be sure to check back often as our list of Frequently Asked Questions are constantly evolving as we compile and categorize questions from our current customers. And if you don't find your question, call us 24/7. We’ll be glad to help.
- FIRST THINGS FIRST - ABOUT OUR OKLAHOMA PARENT-TAUGHT DRIVERS ED
- GETTING YOUR PERMIT
- NOW THAT THE STUDENT HAS PASSED THE COURSE.
- GETTING YOUR LICENSE
- SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
- PAYING FOR YOUR COURSE
- DRIVE SAFELY
Parent Taught is an alternative to conventional Driver Education that is recognized by the Department of Public Safety. It is offered as correspondence study through approved Parent Taught Driver Education Providers.
Yes. The Parent-Taught Teen Driver Education course has been approved by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety.
In signing up as a Parent-Taught Education Provider, the state will provide you with the curriculum you need.
No matter which path you take, whether through our Parent Taught Education or a classroom setting, the state requires all students to complete 30 hours of online or classroom training and 55 hours of actual behind-the-wheel training.
Requirements for students. Students must be at least fifteen (15) years of age to begin the written portion of the curriculum. The student must apply for and have been issued an instruction permit prior to the commencement of any behind-the-wheel training. The permit must be in the student's possession at all times while performing behind-the-wheel training.
Requirements for the vehicle used in parent-taught driver education behind-the-wheel-instruction and training. Behind-the wheel instruction and training of a parent-taught driver education course may only be performed in the vehicle(s) listed on the affidavit submitted by the parent(s) to the Department. The vehicle(s) listed:
- must be properly registered and display a valid license plate
- must comply with vehicle equipment and safety standards including, but not limited to, being equipped with seatbelts,
- must comply with the vehicle liability insurance requirements of Oklahoma's Compulsory Insurance Law. Current proof of insurance must be carried in the vehicle at all times, and
- may be equipped with a second rear-view mirror for use by the parent performing the instruction. The Department recommends the use of a second rear-view mirror by the parent.
Yes. Before applying for your permit/license, you must present DPS with one of the following:
- Proof of current enrollment in a secondary or vocational-technical school, on a form provided by your school
- Proof of an excused absence, as defined in State Statutes Title 47 Sect. 6-107.3 on a form provided by your school
- Proof of enrollment and satisfactory progress in a program leading to a Certificate of High School Equivalency (General Equivalency Diploma: GED), on a form provided by the Department of Public Safety
- Proof that you have completed a GED
- Proof of home schooling, on a form provided by the Department of Public Safety
- Proof of employment, if you are working a minimum of 24 hours a week. The form may be obtained from the Department of Public Safety and must be signed by your employer and notarized
- Your high school diploma showing proof that you have graduated from high school.
A legal guardian is defined as a guardian who has been legally appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction (Power of Attorney is not legally sufficient).
Every parent instructor must have a valid driver license which must be in the parent instructor's possession at all times while performing behind-the-wheel instruction and must:
- not have had his or her driving privileges and driver license suspended, canceled, revoked, or denied within the past twelve (12) months;
- not have been convicted of possession or use of alcohol or drugs within the past twelve (12) months;
- not reflect more than five (5) point violations on his or her driving record and
- have no administrative action by the Department relating to driving under the influence or relating to driving while impaired.
While many insurance companies do honor drivers education courses for auto insurance discounts, it is best to contact your insurance agent or company to be sure.
In order to apply for a Parent Taught Driver Education Program, you must:
- download the State's parent-taught driver's education affidavit. (download affidavit)
- complete the affidavit and send to the Department of Public Safety. The Department of Public Safety will process you application and give you a DPS control number, approving you as a Parent-Taught Instructor.
Once you receive your DPS control number and you'll need to complete the following steps:
- download our application by Clicking Here .
- complete the application and fax or mail us a copy. Our fax number is: (760) 692-3226. Please be sure to include your Department of Public Safety control number.
We will immediately process your application and inform you right away of your approval. Once that's done, you may begin your online driver's education course!
All Oklahoma online Parent-Taught Drivers Education courses include the DPS required 30 hours of online driver education and 55 hours of behind the wheel training.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
GOING TO THE DMV TO GET AN INSTRUCTOR PERMIT
Yes! The instructor must be present in order for the student to get a Learners Permit or Class D Driver License.
Students will be required to take a vision and written exam in order to get a Learner's Permit.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
A completion certificate shall be provided by and issued by the parent-taught driver education provider to each student upon the successful completion of course work (both classroom and behind the wheel). These certificates shall be computer generated, in a format agreed upon by the Department and the provider, and shall contain the following:
- Name of the provider;
- Full legal name of student;
- Number of total hours instruction, and a breakdown of in-class/in-car hours;
- Date of completion
- Signature of administrator (stamped signature acceptable) and
- Embossed seal of provider.
Parent affidavit. The parent affidavit shall be completed and signed by the parent(s) who will be teaching the parent-taught driver education course and submitted to and accepted by the Division prior to commencement of the parent-taught driver education course. The affidavit will contain the following information:
- For each parent desiring to be a parent-instructor, the full legal name, mailing address, and driver license number of the parent
- The name of the parent-taught driver education provider selected by the parent.
- The full legal name, mailing address, and instruction permit number or driver license number of the student.
- A description of each vehicle to be used for behind-the-wheel instruction, including:
- Make, model, and year,
- License plate number and expiration date.
- Insurance company, policy number, and expiration date.
- A statement which affirms that each vehicle listed complies with Oklahoma's insurance requirements (and safety and equipment requirements.
- Statements to which the parent(s) and student(s) express understanding and agreement:
- The affidavit does not constitute authorization for the student to drive in lieu of possession of a valid Oklahoma instruction permit or driver license, nor is it a substitute for insurance verification.
- The accepted copy of the affidavit must be carried in the vehicle during any behind-the-wheel session of parent-taught driver education and must be presented upon demand to any law enforcement officer or Department of Public Safety employee.
- No more than two (2) students and two (2) parent instructors shall occupy the vehicle during any behind-the-wheel session of parent-taught driver education.
- All state laws regarding the operation of a motor vehicle and all rules of the Department regarding parent-taught driver education shall be obeyed by the student(s) and parent(s).
- The parent(s) and student(s) shall notify the Department immediately if any information on the affidavit changes.
- The parent(s) and student(s) agree to hold harmless and free from any liability the Department, any of the Department's employees, and the State of Oklahoma.
Once you've completed Unit 5 of your online drivers education course, you'll be able to print a Certificate of Partial Completion that is needed in order to sit for your instruction permit test.
Then once you've passed the final online exam at the end of the course, you'll be able to print a Certificate of Completion for your records.
Of course. You can upgrade your delivery method in your Teen I Drive Safely account or by calling us at (800) 990-2814.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
You need to be at least 16 years old to obtain an intermediate license and at least 16 1/2 years old to receive an unrestricted license.
Yes. You must hold your learner's permit for at least 6 months before applying for your intermediate license. If you took a driver education course, you must hold your intermediate license for at least 6 months before your license becomes unrestricted. If you did not take driver's education, you must hold your intermediate license for at least 1 year before your license becomes unrestricted.
Yes. The Graduated Drive License law was passed in Oklahoma on May 17, 1999. Before you receive an unrestricted Oklahoma Driver License, you must either be over the age of 18 or have held your learner permit and your intermediate license for 6 months each. Those who have their intermediate license may not drive between the hours of 5 a.m. and 11 p.m. unless:
- They are heading to or leaving from a school, work, or church related activity.
- There is a licensed driver over the age of 21 present in the vehicle. They may only transport 1 passenger unless:
- They are transporting people who live in their home.
- There is a licensed driver over the age of 21 present in the vehicle.
In order to apply for an intermediate license you must have held your learner's permit for at least 6 months. You must have completed the required 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a licensed driver over the age of 21. You cannot have any traffic convictions on your driving record. After these requirements have been met, the applicant must pass a driving skills exam. In order to obtain an unrestricted driver's license you must either be 18 years old or have held your intermediate license for at least 6 months. If you are under the age of 18 and did not complete driver education you must have held your intermediate license for at least 1 year before your license becomes unrestricted. You must have no convictions on your driving record to earn an unrestricted license.
In order to apply for your driver's license, you must bring two acceptable forms of identification (primary and secondary), proof of auto liability insurance, and your Social Security number. If you are under the age of 18 you must bring proof of enrollment in school (or equivalent), documentation showing that you have passed an eighth grade reading proficiency test, and your driver's education completion certificate (if applicable). You must bring a statement from your doctor if you have a health condition that may affect your driving, and you must bring documentation of name change if applicable.
You apply for your permit and license at a Driver Testing Facility. These facilities are operated by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS).
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
Steps You Need To Take
Find everything you need to know about getting your license. From signing up to applying for your license. It's all right here in "Steps to Get Your License".
Get the answers you need to questions you ask the most including details about the course, concerns about getting your license and info about our company.
Forms You’ll Need
Before you head out to apply for your license, make sure you're prepared. In this section, you'll find a list of the forms and documents you will probably need.