Start Your Permit Process With Driver's Ed
If you're 15 years of age and wondering how to get your Georgia's driver's permit, your first step is completing a Joshua's Law Driver's Ed course. All teen drivers are required to complete a 30-hour course approved by the state before applying for their learner's permit. To find out more about the course requirements, have a look at our Georgia Joshua's Law Requirements downloadable PDF. It includes all the info you need to get started.
No Crammed Classrooms
Getting your learner's permit in Georgia doesn't have to be a nightmare -we have designed this entirely online course to help you. All you need to access it is a computer that is connected to the Internet, so you get all the convenience your life needs. With a Joshua's Law online class, you can work from home or anywhere that's convenient for you, and you'll never have to rearrange your schedule. It's there whenever you have the time.
This course is web-based and state-approved by the Department of Driver Services (DDS), so it fulfills everything that is required for you to get your permit. Remember, you must be at least 15 years of age to take the course.
Going for your first driver's license can be as overwhelming as it is exciting. That's why I Drive Safely put together this guide on the licensing process in Georgia according to the guidelines of Joshua's Law. It takes you through the steps from Driver's Ed to driver's license, explaining all the way - so you won't have to worry about missing anything.
Steps to Getting Your Driver's License
- Phase 1-Instructional Permit (Class CP)
- Phase 2-Intermediate License (Class D)
- Phase 3-Full License (Class C)
Instructional Permit (Class CP)
(Also known as Learner's Permit.)
- Once you pass your online Joshua's Law Driver's Ed course, you will be allowed to apply for your learner’s permit.
- You must be at least 15 years of age.
- You must have the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) card. (For more information about Georgia's ADAP card, check out our "Got Questions" section on our Path to License page.)
- There will be a written examination that you must pass. If you do (and therefore receive your permit), you must have a licensed (Class C) adult over the age of 21 with you while driving.
Intermediate License (Class D)
When a driver has held an instructional driver’s permit for 12 months and is between the ages of 15 and 18, he or she can apply for their intermediate driver’s license. To earn this license, there is a driving test they must take and pass. Once the intermediate license has been acquired, the intermediate license holder may only drive under the following conditions:
- The first 6 months: you may only have immediate family members as passengers
- The second 6 months after receipt of license: you may only drive 1 non-family passenger under 21 years of age
- One year (12 months) after receipt of license: you may drive a maximum of 3 non-family passengers under the age of 21
- According to Joshua's Law, anyone who has earned an initial Class D license on or after January 1, 2007 must have completed a DDS-approved Driver’s Ed course as well as 40 hours of supervised driving practice including 6 hours at night.
- You may not drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 6 a.m.
Full License (Class C)
As long as an intermediate driver has kept their Class D license free of major traffic violations for one full year (12 months), they will be issued their full Class C driver’s license. You must be at least 18 years old to receive your full license.
Start working on getting your license: take our award-winning online Driver's Ed course.