It's hard to know everything you need to get your Learner's Permit. And while we're not able to provide an answer to EVERY question, we hope you'll find these pages a little helpful.
Be sure to check back often as our Frequently Asked Questions are constantly evolving as we compile and categorize questions from our current customers. And should you not find the question that's on your mind, call us 24/7. We'll be glad to help.
- ABOUT OUR COURSE
- INSURANCE AND TAX QUESTIONS
- GETTING STARTED
- GETTING YOUR FIRST DRIVER'S LICENSE - INTERMEDIATE LICENSE (CLASS D)
- SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
- PAYING FOR YOUR COURSE
- DRIVE SAFELY
Yes. Our 30-hour course is DDS-approved and meets all the requirements needed to obtain your Georgia Instructional Permit (Class CP).
The Parent/Teen Guide is a handbook that provides suggestions for in-car lessons to help parents prepare their teenagers for the responsibilities of driving. This guide provides parents with a systematic approach to teach their teenagers to make safe driving decisions. The suggested lessons in the guide follow a sequential learning pattern that progresses from the parking lot to neighborhoods, to light traffic to rural highways, to expressways and then to city driving. The Parent/Teen Driving Guide can be used in conjunction with a DDS approved online driver education course to meet the requirements of Joshua's Law. The Guide is available as a free download here.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
Our DDS approved online Georgia Driver's Ed meets the requirements for an insurance discount. However, we encourage you to check with your insurance company for a complete list of requirements.
Yes, parents or guardians are eligible for a tax credit in an amount up to a $150.00 if their dependent minor child successfully completes our online Driver's Ed course. A copy of the Certificate of Completion and proof of the fees paid for the course will be required to qualify for the credit. The amount of the credit is equal to $150.00 or the actual amount paid, whichever is less. Courses taken at private or public high schools do not qualify for this credit.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
- If you are between 15 and 17 year olds, you must complete a state approved driver education course in order to obtain a Class D license. Additionally, 16 years olds must complete a total of 30 hours of daylight and 6 hours of nighttime supervised driving. A Certificate of Completion from the driver education school must be presented at the time of application for a Class D Driver's License.
- You must be at least 15 years old.
- You must have the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) card. (For more information about Georgia's ADAP card, check out our "Got Questions" section on our Path To License Page.)
- Any out of state permits, licenses, or ID cards must be surrendered. If the teen held a license or permit in another state, a certified Driving History, dated within the last 30 days, from the issuing state is also required.
- You will be required to pass a written examination. If successful, the permit holder must be accompanied by a licensed (Class C) adult 21 years or older while driving.
Yes. They will need to be present when you apply. They must sign for the applicant as well as present their Georgia Driver License or ID card. If the parent/guardian does not possess a Georgia License or ID card, the teen must present a standard Proof of Residency document.
The applicant must pass:
- a vision exam
- a two-part knowledge exam pertaining to Road Rules and Road Signs
The knowledge exam is conducted on a walk in basis only at all Customer Service Centers. Testing must begin at least 30 minutes before office close time.
You may drive only with a licensed driver, 21 years or older, with at least one year of driving experience seated next to you at all times. In addition, your permit is valid for 24 months.
You can go to any Georgia DDS office that issues permits or licenses. To find a DDS office near you, please Click Here.
As the price changes from time to time, you'll need to check with the DDS for the exact price.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
- To apply for your Class D driver's license:
- A valid learner's license must be held for one year and one day from its issuance. It must be surrendered at the time of testing.
- You must be at least 16 years old.
You will need to pass an eye and a driving test.
The vehicle to be used for the road test must be properly insured; the insurance card and registration must be presented. The license plate (tag) must be valid (not expired). The vehicle must pass a safety inspection. A rental car may be used only if the person testing is listed as an authorized driver on the rental agreement. A Georgia official dealer tag (silver strip containing date) may be used for the road test within thirty days of purchase date, and original bill of sale papers must be presented.
Appointments for on-the-road tests are highly recommended and may be scheduled up to 90 days in advance. Walk in road tests cannot be guaranteed and may involve a lengthy wait time. Have the driver's permit number available when calling. Reservation numbers are: (678) 413-8400 select option 4 or call Toll-free (866) 754-3687 if dialing from an area code outside the metro-Atlanta area but within Georgia.
Yes, a parent or legal guardian must sign your driver's license application with you as well as an affidavit that the applicant has completed at least 40 hours of on-the-road driving experience, including at least 6 hours of night driving, with a parent or guardian. Your parent/guardian must also present the completed Parent Teen Driving Guide. The last page of this guide may be signed and notarized prior to the teen's road test, or the parent/guardian may wait to sign in the presence of the DDS examiner, who will notarize the form.
Yes, a Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form must be signed and notarized from your school. It is only valid for 30 days. All applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or an attendance form from your local Board of Education if you are enrolled in an approved home school program.
In addition to the Certificate of Completion form from our Online Driver's Ed course, you will also need to bring:
- A Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form signed and notarized from your school. It is only valid for 30 days. All applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or an attendance form from your local Board of Education if you are enrolled in an approved home school program.
- Your Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) card.
- An original US birth certificate, certified copy of the U.S. birth certificate (with embossed state seal), U.S. certificate of birth registration, certified copy of court records (for adoption, name changes, etc.), certified naturalization records, immigration card. Hospital issued birth certificates are not acceptable.
- Non U.S. citizens must present original, non-expired immigration documents.
- Applicants must know their social security number, but the original social security card is not required. An online verification (first name, last name, date of birth and social security number) with the social security records system is completed prior to issuing the permit. Non citizens may present a Social Security Denial Letter, Form SSA L676 in place of a social security number.
The Georgia Alcohol Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) is a required course teens must take in order to receive their Class D driver's license. This course is taught in both public and private schools in four one-hour sessions. Students will be required to pass a written exam at the end of the class. Students usually take the ADAP course during the ninth grade taught from teachers certified by the Georgia Department of Education in the following areas: Health Education, Health and Physical Education of Driver and Safety Education. For more information or call (404) 669-2942 / (800) 245-4410.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
Steps You Need To Take
Find everything you need to know about getting your license. From signing up to applying for your license. It's all right here in "Steps to Get Your License".
Get the answers you need to questions you ask the most including details about the course, concerns about getting your license and info about our company.
Forms You’ll Need
Before you head out to apply for your license, make sure you're prepared. In this section, you'll find a list of the forms and documents you will probably need.