Online Florida Permit Test

About Us | Contact Us |

Customer Service (800) 990-2814

Just Need the Course?

For teens 17 and older, you are required to take your DHSMV permit test in person... so the online Driver's Ed course is all you need! Enroll today and get started.

Online Drug & Alcohol Course

Only $24.95 Sign Up

Already Took Driver's Ed?

If you're under 17, you can take your Permit Exam online, instead of taking it at the DHSMV! Sign up for our quick & easy Permit Test, and earn your learner's permit right from home.

Online Permit Test

Only $24.95 Sign Up

Tell Your Friends You’ll Be Taking the
I Drive Safely Course

How to Take Your Florida Permit Test Online

Passing your permit test is essential if you want to move forward on the path to getting your Florida driver's license. That's why we want to make sure you succeed. We facilitate the process for you by offering both your driver's ed course AND your Florida permit exam online! That means you never have to step foot outside of your home!

 The Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course
I Drive Safely's Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), which requires that teens take this course, so you can rest assured that it will put you one step closer to your full license. You'll learn valuable information about the rules of the road, and how drugs and alcohol impact driving, which will equip you with the knowledge you need to be a safe driver. We even keep you entertained while you study! With I Drive Safely's 4-Hour Drug and Alcohol course, you get:

  • Videos
  • Slideshows
  • Graphics and animations
  • And so much more!

These multimedia learning tools make learning fun, plus they help you remember the material that's being covered. And even if you don't quite retain everything when it comes time to take your final exam, you're still guaranteed to pass! We offer unlimited retakes on your final, so no matter what, you'll pass our course. Then you can move on to the next step: taking your permit test!

 All About the Online Florida Permit Test
Now that it's time for you to take your permit test, we know you've got lots of questions. Don't worry: we have all the answers!

 Can I Really Take My Permit Test Online?
Yes! Because our online version of the Florida permit test holds approval from the state's DHSMV, you can complete your test without ever getting up from your favorite easy chair!

 Who Can Take The Online DHSMV Permit Exam?
You must be 15 years old to take the DHSMV exam (and yes, you can take the DHSMV exam anytime after midnight on your 15th birthday) and you must be under 18. This age bracket is a Florida DHSMV regulation. In addition, you must have taken your online Drivers Education (TLSAE) course through I Drive Safely in order to take your DHSMV exam online. (This too is a Florida DHSMV regulation. The Online DHSMV Permit Test cannot be administered by itself.) Once you successfully pass our TLSAE course, you'll be automatically approved to take your DHSMV exam online.

Our Online DHSMV Permit Exam is also known by the following names

  • Learners Permit Test Online
  • DHSMV Permit Test Online

 How Does the Online DHSMV Permit Exam Work?

The DHSMV Permit Test consists of 50 questions and you must answer at least 40 correctly in order to pass.

 What Information Do I Need to Provide Before I Can Take My Test?
You will need to supply your:

  • Full name
  • Birth date
  • Complete Social Security Number

You'll also need to have a parent/guardian sign an affidavit that confirms that you have completed the permit test online. See our Forms You Need page for more on this.

 How Many Questions Is the Test?
It is 50 questions.

 What Format Is the Exam In?
The DMV Florida permit test is multiple-choice.

 Where Do the Test Questions Come From?
All of the exam questions are pulled from the TLSAE course material, so if you've taken the course, you'll know everything you need to know for your permit test!

 After You Pass
After you pass your permit test for Florida online, you can get behind-the-wheel practice with adult supervision. You'll need to complete 50 hours, with 10 of these taking place at night. Your parent or guardian will also have to sign a form that states that you have fulfilled these hours. You're required to wait for a year to pass before you can work toward your operator's license, but you can use this time to really hone your skills so that you can ensure your safety out on the road!

 What Happens If I Don't Pass?
You'll need to retake the full test if you did not pass.

Through our online DHSMV Permit Test, the DHSMV allows you three (3) retakes. After three no-pass results however, you will be required to retake the test at your local Florida DHSMV driver's license office.

The state also requires an additional charge of $24.95 every time you retake the permit test.

 Still Have Questions?
We have a team of customer support representatives who are there to help you with any questions or issues you may have. They are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week so there is always someone there to assist you!

Sign Up Button

Pass Your Florida Permit Test Online!
Drug & Alcohol Course + Permit Test

Get a FREE 50-question permit practice test when you sign up.
A $9.95 Value for Free!

©1998-2015 I Drive Safely, L.L.C. All rights reserved