Florida uses a Graduated Driver's License Program to ensure that Florida teens are acquiring the skills and knowledge they need to be the best drivers they can be. It was founded in 1996, and mandates that teens interested in earning a Florida driver's license progress through three stages. These stages are:
This step-by-step guide to Florida driver's license requirements will help you navigate this process, so that you can get your Florida driver's license online with ease!
First Things First: The Learner's License
To get your learner's license, you'll need to meet these requirements:
With a learner's license, you are only allowed to drive in the daylight, until 3 months have passed. At this point, you may drive until 10 p.m. However, you'll need to be accompanied at all times by an individual who holds a valid driver's license and is over the age of 21.
Next Up: The Operator's License
You did it! You're one step closer to your full license. In order to move on to this stage, however, you'll need to have had your learner's license for a year (12 months), if you're a minor. During that year, you are required to:
Now that you've finished those steps, you can apply for your operator's license! To apply, you should:
With an operator's license at the age of 16, you may drive between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. If you are going to work, or are accompanied by a 21-year-old licensed driver, though, you may drive outside of these times.
If you are 17 and have your operator's license, you may not drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless you meet either of the above 2 conditions.
And Finally: The Full License
All you have to do to get your full teenage driver's license in Florida is wait until you turn 18, and apply for it! You don't have to take any other tests. If you're 18 years of age and have never had a driver's license, you can apply for a full license; you'll just need to submit proof that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course.
The best part is that the full license doesn't have any restrictions!
What Exactly Is a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course?
This course serves as a kind of driver's education that must be completed if you want to either get your learner's license, or get your full license, if you're over 18. I Drive Safely make it easy for you to fulfill this requirement: it's fully approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), plus it's 100% online, so you get all the convenience you want! You'll be completing the mandatory 4 hours, and having a good time doing it!
If you're new to Florida, you don't have to worry about obtaining a learner's license if you've had a non-provisional license for a yea; you simply need to take a TLSAE course. Then you can skip right to the operator's license! That means you can earn your Florida driver's license online in even less time! So really, the Graduated Driver's License Program benefits everyone.