- Step 1-Pass Our First-Time Driver’s Ed Course
- Step 2-Apply For Your Learner's License
- Step 3-Do Your Parent-Supervised In-Car Training
- Step 4-Get Your Intermediate Driver’s License
Pass Our First-Time Driver’s Ed Course
Your path to earning your learner’s permit starts here. Our simple 4- hour course makes Driver’s Ed easy and fun.
Apply For Your Learner's License
(You must be at least 15 years old.)
To get your driver’s permit, you must provide:
- One primary form of identification such as:
- Certified United States birth certificate issued by a government agency. Hospital birth certificates cannot be accepted.
- Valid United States passport
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Proof of date of birth
- One Secondary Form Of Identification which may include:
- School record stating date of birth, which must contain the registrar's signature
- Baptism certificate, which shows date of birth and the place of baptism
- Family Bible record or birth announcement in a baby book
- An insurance policy on the customer's life which has been in force for at least two years and has the month, day and year of birth
- Proof of social security number which may include:
- Social Security card
- Tax return
- W-2 form
- Pay check
- School record
- Proof of residential address
- Proof that you have taken and passed a Florida TLSAE course, or a license from any state/county
- A Parental Consent Form, which should either be signed by a parent in the presence of a driver's license examiner OR notarized if the parent/guardian will not be present (this form can be found here)
- If you are an unmarried minor (under the age of 18), at least one parent/legal guardian is required to sign your license application. Step-parents are not allowed to sign unless they have legally adopted you.
The following tests are required:
- A written exam, which is made up of two multiple-choice sections: Road Rules (traffic laws) and Road Signs. Each section consists of 20 questions, and you must get a minimum of 15 correct answers on each section in order to pass.
- A vision test with an eye machine. You must have 20/40 (or better) vision in each eye, and both eyes together, with or without corrective lenses in order to pass.
- A hearing test
Conditions for driving with a learner's license:
- For the first 3 months: you may only drive during daylight hours
- After the first 3 months: you may only drive until 10 p.m.
- At all times: a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older must accompany you in the front passenger seat as you drive
Do Your Parent-Supervised In-Car Training
You must complete this step before you can apply for your first-time driver’s license. >
- The law requires a parent/guardian to certify that your teen has spent:
- A minimum of 50 hours behind the wheel to qualify for getting a first-time driver’s license
- Ten of those hours must be at night.
- A responsible licensed adult over 21 years of age must always occupy the front passenger seat closest to the driver.
- Download our PARENT-TEEN DRIVING SKILLS GUIDE to get your skills mastery checklist, driving log and driving certification form. You will either need to have the driving certificate form notarized or signed and witnessed by an examiner at the DHSMV.
Get Your Intermediate Driver's License
- Minimum requirements:
- Be at least 16 years of age
- Must have been in possession of a learner's license for at least one year with a clean driving record
- Documents you must provide:
- Either a Florida learner's license, or a valid license from another jurisdiction
- Certification from a parent/guardian that you have practiced a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, with 10 of those hours occurring at night
- The next step is to take a driving test where you will be asked to perform specific maneuvers.
- Conditions for driving with an intermediate license:
- For 16-year-olds: you may only drive between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m., unless you are traveling to or from work, or have a licensed driver over the age of 21 sitting in the car's front passenger seat
- For 17-year-olds: the same rules apply, but the hours you may drive between are 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.
Steps You Need To Take
Find everything you need to know about getting your license. From signing up to applying for your license. It's all right here in "Steps to Get Your License".
Get the answers you need to questions you ask the most including details about the course, concerns about getting your license and info about our company.
Forms You’ll Need
Before you head out to apply for your license, make sure you're prepared. In this section, you'll find a list of the forms and documents you will probably need.