It's hard to know everything you need to get your Learner's Permit. And while we're not able to provide an answer to EVERY question, we hope you'll find these pages a little helpful.
Be sure to check back often as our Frequently Asked Questions are constantly evolving as we compile and categorize questions from our current customers. And should you not find the question that's on your mind, call us 24/7. We'll be glad to help.
- ABOUT OUR DRUG & ALCOHOL COURSE
- TAKING THE DHSMV PERMIT TEST
- GETTING YOUR LEARNER’S PERMIT
- GETTING YOUR GRADUATED OPERATOR'S LICENSE
- SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
- PAYING FOR YOUR COURSE
- DRIVE SAFELY
The drug and alcohol course, also known as your Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse course, is the state-mandated driver’s education program that all teens must complete in order to earn a learner’s permit. It teaches you the essential topics associated with safe and responsible driving, along with the dangers of abusing drugs and alcohol.
Yes. Our 4-hour TLSAE course is DHSMV-approved and meets all the requirements needed to obtain your Florida First-Time Learner's Permit.
Parents/Guardians are required to supervise the 50 hours their teens need for behind-the-wheel training. Our DHSMV-approved Guide covers all the necessary driving skills your teen needs to know. In addition, the final page of the Guide is a form you will need to fill out and have notarized or be signed in the presence of a DHSMV examiner.
Florida Drivers Ed courses are known by many names; TLSAE, Drug and Alcohol Course, ADAPT, and First Time Drivers. But they're all the same. And our approved course satisfies all their requirements needed to apply for a Florida learners permit.
That's the beauty of our online course. You are in complete control of when, where and how you study. Do a little or a lot per day. Skip a day or two and pick it up when you have the time. Do an hour here an hour there...our Florida Drivers Ed course is designed for maximum convenience.
We report your course completion to the DHSMV for you. The process usually takes less than 24 hours.If you would like a copy of your Certificate of Completion for your own records, you can purchase one during signup.
After you have successfully passed your Drug and Alcohol course, you will be eligible to apply for your learner’s permit and begin your behind-the-wheel training. I DRIVE SAFELY will report your course completion to the DHSMV, and will also send you a Certificate of Completion for you to bring to the DHSMV when you apply for your permit.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
You must be at least 15 years old to enroll in your Drug and Alcohol Course and take your permit exam. You must be under 17 years old to take the permit exam online.
You may take the test either in person at the DHSMV, or online if you are between the ages of 15 and 17 years. I DRIVE SAFELY offers a convenient Drug and Alcohol Course + Permit Test combo!
No. The state of Florida requires completion of a Drug and Alcohol course before any teen may apply for a permit. The only exception is if you are over 18 years old and already have a license from another state.
You must pass your permit test with a score of 80% or higher on each section.
Yes, you can. Our online course allows you 3 attempts at passing your permit test. If you haven’t passed by your third attempt, you can still retake the exam—you will simply need to do so in person at the DHSMV.
A permit prep exam is a practice test that you can use to prepare yourself for your actual permit exam. The practice test uses questions from past DHSMV permit exams, so that you know exactly what types of questions you will be facing when you go to earn your learner’s permit.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
To apply for your permit you must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Have successfully passed an approved Drivers Education course that a parent/guardian has supervised:
- A minimum of 50 hours behind the wheel training.
- Ten of those hours must be at night.
You are required to take:
- A Written Test covering the following areas:
- Road Rules - 20 multiple-choice questions about traffic laws - must have 15 correct answers to pass.
- Road Signs - 20 multiple-choice questions about road signs - must have 15 correct answers to pass.
- A Vision Test. To pass, you must have 20/40 (or better) vision in each and both eyes, with or without corrective lenses.
- A Hearing Test.
Yes. They will need to be present when you apply.
With your Learner's Permit, you may:
- Only drive during daylight hours during the first three months and until 10 p.m. Thereafter, always with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat.
As the price changes from time to time, you'll need to check with the DHSMV for the exact price.
No. You must always drive with a licensed driver at least 21 years of age until you turn 16 and have earned your Intermediate Driver’s License. Additionally, for the first 3 months of holding your permit, you may only drive during daylight hours. After the first 3 months has passed, you may only drive until 10 p.m.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
- To apply for your Graduated Operator's License, you must:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Have held a learner's license for at least one year without any traffic convictions.
You will be required to take Driving Test and perform certain driving maneuvers.
Yes, a parent or legal guardian must sign your driver's license application with you as well as an affidavit that the applicant has completed at least 50 hours of on-the-road driving experience, including at least 10 hours of night driving, with a parent or guardian.
You must provide:
- A Florida Learner's License or a license from another jurisdiction.
- Parent or guardian certification that you have at least 50 hours of behind the wheel driving experience, of which 10 hours must be at night.
With your Graduated Operator's License, you may:
- 16 years old - only drive between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat, or you are traveling to or from work.
- 17 years old - only drive between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat, or you are traveling to or from work.
The state of Florida only grants driving privileges to teens who show that they are responsible in all areas, including school attendance. Teens who do not regularly attend school are not looked at as responsible enough to deal with the rigors of safe driving. If you are found to be truant in your school attendance, you will have your driving privileges revoked until you can prove that you have attended classes for at least 30 consecutive days.
[ Back to Top ] [ ]
Steps You Need To Take
Find everything you need to know about getting your license. From signing up to applying for your license. It's all right here in "Steps to Get Your License".
Get the answers you need to questions you ask the most including details about the course, concerns about getting your license and info about our company.
Forms You’ll Need
Before you head out to apply for your license, make sure you're prepared. In this section, you'll find a list of the forms and documents you will probably need.