Forms are VERY important! Especially when it comes to getting your permit. Follow the instructions below, have all your documents in order, make an appointment with the DMV to take your permit exam and you should have no problems. (And remember, you must be at least 15 ½, but under 18 years to get a permit.)
- DL 44 - Because original signatures are required on the form and because each DL 44 contains a unique barcode which must be scanned or keyed by the DMV employee, the state of California does not provide the DL 44 online. You MUST get this form from the DMV.
To obtain a DL 44 by mail, call DMV's automated phone service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at (800) 777-0133 (available 24 hours a day, 7 days per week) visit your local DMV office to pick one up.
You'll need to submit a completed DL 44 (yours and your parents' signatures must be on this form) . Signing this form means you agree to submit to a chemical test to determine the alcohol or drug content of your blood when required by a peace officer. If you refuse to sign this statement, the DMV will not issue a permit or license.
- Certificate Of Completion (Form OL 237) - Once you successfully complete our Online Drivers Ed Course, we'll send you your approved Form OL 237. This ensures the DMV that you have successfully graduated and are qualified to take the written permit exam.
Some acceptable documents include:
- U.S. birth certificate
- Proof of Indian Blood Degree
- U.S. passport
- Official U.S. Armed Forces Identification Card
- Naturalization certificate
- Permanent Resident Card
- Passport from another country or Mexican Border Crossing Card (with a valid I-94 form)
Legal documents stating true full name as a result of adoption or marriage. Legal documents should contain your legal name both before and after the name change. Acceptable documents may include:
- Adoption documents that contain your full legal name after adoption
- Marriage certificate
- A registration document or declaration certificate gives validity to a domestic partnership
- Proof of divorce/annulment, or other document which shows marriage dissolution, which gives your full legal name post-court action
$28 application fee – this fee enables you to take 3 exams of any kind within a year-long (12-month) period. It also serves as payment for both the learner's permit and driver's license. If you do not meet all the requirements within this one-year period of time, your application will become void, and you must repeat all steps in the process. You may pay with either cash or a money order.
Should you need further information, please visit California's Official DMV Website.
Driver's Ed Course
Available - Learn More
- The overall course was designed rather well. There was a lot of very good information and it will help me once I get my learners permit, and eventually my driver's license.
- The experience was great, and fast. I feel now that this course has propelled me further in becoming a safe and intelligent driver.
Parent-Teen Safe Driving Contract
Steps You Need To Take
Find everything you need to know about getting your license. From signing up to applying for your license. It's all right here in "Steps to Get Your License".
Get the answers you need to questions you ask the most including details about the course, concerns about getting your license and info about our company.
Forms You’ll Need
Before you head out to apply for your license, make sure you're prepared. In this section, you'll find a list of the forms and documents you will probably need.